Avanquest Software: the entrepreneurs’ adventure

D3B_0939Avanquest’s story is first and foremost an entrepreneurial project that started in 1984 and continues to this day. In 1984 the word “startup” didn’t yet exist; in the beginning, there were just two of us. Today we are 530 employees scattered around the world, in Paris, London, San Francisco and Shanghai, united by the same ability to adapt in a constantly changing technological world.

And we’ve been through a good many changes in our thirty years! From those changes, we’ve drawn the values that cement our Group together today. First came the shift from a small business to a mid-sized one with annual sales of 100 million Euros; this was achieved through a desire to retain our flexibility and independent spirit. Then we went international: today, 80% of our sales are made outside France. We are a “Made in France” company, proud of our origins but completely involved in today’s world, in order to take advantage of talent wherever it can be found. Finally, the transformation of our business, with the decrease in physical software sales, has encouraged us to reinvent ourselves. Since 2008, we have been fully committed to shifting our Group towards online activities. These challenges have been taken up by our teams, passionately and dynamically, with a single vision: to undertake new projects so that we can always be on the cutting edge of technology!

These are the reasons we decided to set up a team of business-managers who all share one characteristic: they’ve all established companies in the industry. Within the Avanquest Group, as division heads or in managerial positions, they manage their team like a startup, independently and driven by innovation.

It is their energy and determination that has made us the ninth leading French software publisher and one of the 17 French publishers ranked in the European Top 10. Avanquest Software is an entrepreneurial success story; its chapters continue to be written with the same drive, and they are part and parcel of the history of new technologies in France.

Through this site you’ll learn about our values, our business, and our very active day-to-day life. Enjoy your visit!

Bruno Vanryb
Chairman of the Board

Avanquest Software, une aventure d’entrepreneurs

D3B_0939L’histoire d’Avanquest, c’est avant tout un projet entrepreneurial qui a commencé en 1984 et qui se poursuit aujourd’hui. Crée en 1984, à une époque où le mot start-up n’existait pas, nous étions deux à l’origine. Aujourd’hui, nous sommes 530 salariés dans le monde, à Paris, Londres, San Franscisco, ou encore Shanghaï, unis par la même capacité d’adaptation dans un monde technologique en permanente mutation.

Ces mutations, nous en avons vécu plus d’une en trente ans d’existence ! Et nous en avons tiré les valeurs qui cimentent aujourd’hui notre groupe. D’abord, le passage d’une PME à une ETI qui réalise 100 millions de chiffre d’affaires, qui s’est faite avec la volonté de conserver agilité et indépendance d’esprit. Ensuite, le développement à l’international : aujourd’hui, 80 % de nos ventes se fait hors de France. Nous sommes une entreprise made in France, fiers de nos origines, mais complètement inscrit dans le monde d’aujourd’hui pour profiter des talents où qu’ils soient. Enfin, la transformation de notre métier, avec la décroissance des ventes physiques de logiciels qui nous incitent à nous réinventer. Depuis 2008, nous sommes pleinement engagés dans une mutation de notre groupe vers les activités online. Ces défis, ce sont nos équipes qui les relèvent avec passion et dynamisme, et une même vision : entreprendre de nouveaux projets pour être constamment à la pointe des technologies !

C’est pour ces raisons que nous avons pris le parti de constituer une équipe de managers – entrepreneurs, qui ont tous en commun la caractéristique d’avoir créé eux-mêmes des entreprises dans le secteur. Au sein du groupe Avanquest, à la tête de divisions ou à des fonctions managériales, ils gèrent leur équipe comme une start-up avec autonomie et force d’innovation.

Grâce à leur énergie et détermination, nous sommes aujourd’hui le 9ème éditeur français de logiciels et l’un des 17 éditeurs français classés dans le Top 100 européen. Avanquest Software, c’est une success story entrepreneuriale, dont les chapitres continuent de s’écrire avec le même entrain et qui se confondent avec l’histoire de nouvelles technologies en France.

A travers ce site, vous allez pouvoir découvrir nos valeurs, notre activité et notre très riche actualité. Bonne visite !

Bruno Vanryb
Président